About us

Civil Service Commissioners uphold the seven principles of public life namely, selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty, and leadership. The Commissioners bring to the position a wide range of experience from diverse backgrounds, careers and interests and are free from personal and political patronage.

The Commissioners are independent of the Northern Ireland Civil Service (NICS) and this independence is critical to their role in overseeing appointments to the NICS. Commissioners are appointed on merit by the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland following public advertisement and there are currently three Commissioners.

The Commissioners are supported by a small Secretariat in the Office of the Civil Service Commissioners (OCSC).